DISCLAIMER

While I make every effort to write correct information, I am still learning this subject. One doctor may have a different way of doing things from another.  I am simply presenting my personal experience of going through a total hip replacement. I welcome any comments, suggestions, or correction of errors.  I take no money from drug or device companies.  By reading this blog, you agree not to use this blog as medical advice to treat any medical condition in either yourself or others, including but not limited to patients that you are treating.  Consult your own physician for any medical issues that you may be having.  This entire disclaimer also applies to any guests or contributors to the blog.  No guarantee is given regarding the accuracy of any statements or opinions made on this blog.

Privacy notice: This blog, is PIPEDA compliant.  While you may give your email address to subscribe to the blog posts or to post information on the blog, I will never share your email address or contact information with any third parties without your explicit permission.

Any questions or comments are welcome!

A little about me!

I’m 61 (born 1957) , female and grew up in Blackpool, England. I came to Canada in 2000. I am an active person and have always enjoyed various sports and activities throughout my life. This blog is my personal journey of a hip replacement.

Swimming

As a child I was made to do ballet in order to strengthen my legs due to having been born severely knock kneed. I had to undergo physio for many months at around the age of 3 years old. My parents were advised to get me swimming and it took 3 years for my name to come to the top of the list to have private swimming lessons which was the only way to learn back then. Thankfully I was allowed to stop the ballet, much to my relief, and I really enjoyed swimming and still do. I gained bronze, silver and gold awards for personal survival at a young age. I also gained certificates for the Amateur Swimming Association awards. The only thing stopping me certifying in lifesaving was my age. I was too young by 4 years.

Judo

My real main sport was that of judo. In January 1966 I began judo at the age of 8 1/2 and always wanted to earn that coveted black belt which I did at the age of 19 in 1976. I spent most of my time training for that black belt. I also helped teach the children’s classes and some of the adult classes.Being female, I was something of a rarity back then because it was very much a man’s world and many of the peers I trained with were, in fact, male. My mother was concerned that my hips may suffer damage, despite being taught how to fall properly. Now I think back and wonder myself if that had anything to do with needing a new hip all these years later.